Eight industry and racing legends will be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame this year, the organization reveals at the New York Auto Show.

The list includes:

  • Bill France Sr., considered the father of American stock car racing and the founder of NASCAR.
  • Don “Big Daddy” Garlits, developer of the rear “top fuel” dragster and the first full-body fire-resistant racing suit.
  • Donald Healy, British sports car designer best known for the Austin Healey 100 and a top race car driver who held the land speed record in 1956.
  • J.R. “Pitt” Hyde, founder of aftermarket retailing giant AutoZone.
  • Battista Pininfarina, Italian designer extraordinaire and founder of Carrozzeria Pinin Farina in 1930.
  • Heinz Prechter, founder of American Sunroof Corp. and pioneer developer of composite convertible tops.
  • Eberhard von Kuenheim, who headed BMW AG from 1970 to 1999.
  • Jiro Yanase, president of vehicle distributor Yanase & Co. in Japan.

Formal induction ceremonies are scheduled for Oct. 5 at the Hall of Fame in Dearborn.